Saturday, October 19, 2013

Review ~ MISS CHATTERLEY, PART 4: SPENT by Logan Belle

Torn between love and sex. By the time Connie decides, it could be too late.
Connie would do anything to repair the damage done by her affair with Mellors and go back to the way things were with Cliff. But with the truth of her betrayal exposed, and Ivy and Dukes exploiting the breakup, Cliff is driven to cast out Connie—and sell out to Silicon Valley. Is it really too late for a happily ever after with Cliff? Connie’s next move could change everything in this shocking finale.

Okay, so Miss Chatterley, Part 4: Spent ties up the series nicely.  Maybe in fact a little too nicely.  Spent picks up where Torn, book three left off.  I am now back to understanding Connie and feeling for her.  But if I had to pick sides, my loyalty would be and has always been with Cliff.
I can't say that I went into reading Spent with any idea of what was going to happen.  Wait, that's not true.  I went in thinking that Connie's inability to grow a pair was going to blow up in her face.  I went in thinking that EVERYONE was playing poor Cliff.  I didn't expect the level of deceit to go as far as it was alluded to.  I guess the old saying of don't hate the player, hate the game is true.  But I still want to hate several characters.
The Miss Chatterley series shows what can happen when you lose yourself to someone else and their dreams, sacrificing your dreams for theirs.  It's a story of actually learning what it means to love someone and discovering that love and sex are not one and the same.
In Spent, Connie's affair comes to light with a violent outcome.  Truths are discovered and realizations are made.  I don't want to be too judgmental of the characters so I understand that I need to suspend reality just a little bit.  I just think the timeline for the ending resolution happened too quickly.
Rating: 4

Release Date: May 20, 2013
Book Length: 81 pages
Source: Author
Reviewed by: Kim
Reading Format: Available only in eBook

Purchase the MISS CHATTERLEY SERIES from Amazon and other eRetailers.

Click here for my review of Miss Chatterley, Part 1: Hungry
Click here for my review of Miss Chatterley, Part 2: Dirty
Click here for my review of Miss Chatterley, Part 3: Torn

Places to find Logan Belle:

Follow on Bloglovin

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...