Thursday, October 8, 2020

Interview & Giveaway ~ ON BORROWED CRIME by Kate Young

On Borrowed Crime (Jane Doe Book Club Mystery, #1)
by: Kate Young
Series: Jane Doe Book Club Mystery
Genre: Cozy Mystery
Release Date: October 6, 2020
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Amazon | Hardcover | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | IndieBound | Goodreads

A shoe-in read for fans of Ellery Adams and Kate Carlisle, On Borrowed Crime is the first in Kate Young's new Georgia-set, sweet tea filled, Jane Doe Book Club mysteries.

The Jane Doe book club enjoys guessing whodunit, but when murder happens in their midst, they discover solving crimes isn't fun and games...

Lyla Moody loves her sleepy little town of Sweet Mountain, Georgia. She likes her job as receptionist for her uncle's private investigative firm, her fellow true crime obsessed Jane Doe members are the friends she's always wanted, and her parents just celebrated their fiftieth wedding anniversary. But recently, with her best friend Melanie on vacation, and her ex-boyfriend and horrible cousin becoming an item and moving in next door to her, her idyllic life is on the fritz. The cherry on top of it all is finding Carol, a member of the club, dead and shoved into a suitcase, left at Lyla's front door.

Unusual circumstances notwithstanding, with Carol's heart condition, the coroner rules Carol's death undetermined. But when they discover the suitcase belongs to Melanie, who had returned from her vacation the following morning, Sweet Mountain police begin to suspect Lyla's best friend. Determined that police are following the wrong trail, to clear her friend's name, and to not allow Carol to become one of the club's studied cold cases, Lyla begins to seek out the real killer. That is, until she becomes the one sought after. Now, finding the truth could turn her into the killer's next plot twist, unless she wins the game of cat and mouse.


Hi Kate. Welcome to Read Your Writes Book Reviews. How are you?
Hey! I’m doing great. Thanks so much for having me.

You’re very welcome. Congratulations on the release of On Borrowed Crime, the first book in your Jane Doe Book Club Mystery series. Please tell me about your protagonist Lyla Moody.
Lyla Moody is 31 years old and works for her uncle Calvin as a receptionist at Cousins Investigative Services in the “Mayberry-esque” town of Sweet Mountain, Ga. Her mother would rather see her working behind the makeup counter at a department store. Which is a point of contention between them. Indeed, as Lyla observes, “Here in Sweet Mountain... old southern families resided. Our tea was sweet, our accents were sweeter, and our ladies were expected to be the same. Murder didn’t quite fit in.”

Lyla is part of the Jane Doe Book Club what is the club like and who are some of the members we’ll be introduced to?
The Jane Doe Book Club is a special club that discusses true crime novels, actual cold cases as well as mysteries and thrillers. The core members are Lyla, her best friend Melanie Smart, Patsy (a friend from school), Amelia Klein (a recent transplant), and Valerie Heinz. Each Jane Doe has enjoyed figuring out whodunnit, but when one of their own becomes a case, they realize murder is not all fun and games.

The series takes place in a little town called Sweet Mountain, Georgia. Is this a real place or is it based on a real place?
Sweet Mountain is loosely based on Cartersville, Georgia, a vibrant little town nestled in the foothills of the Georgia Mountains north of Atlanta.

What can you tell me about On Borrowed Crime?
I was inspired to write On Borrowed Crime by a true crime story of a Jane Doe located up I85 going toward Atlanta. The case was publicized on local news stations with a call to the public in order to help identify the Jane. Upon further research, I discovered there were upwards of fifty cold cases of unidentified John and Jane Does up the actual area called “the dumping grounds.” My protagonist is slightly obsessed with those cases.

Lyla has recently broken up with her ex-boyfriend. Is there a new love interest on the horizon for her?
I do see a love interest coming Lyla’s way in future books.

I love romances in cozy mysteries! When you sit down to write your mysteries, do you already know who the killer is and why they did it, or are you just as surprised as the readers? 
Sometimes I know and other times, when I think I have the killer solidified in the plot and it changes.

What’s the favorite part of a cozy mystery to write?
I enjoy the beginning of a fresh new story. The possibilities of the blank page. But as the story progresses, I think my favorite part is the big reveal, where peace is restored, and everyone is safe and sound.

The Jane Doe Book Club Mystery series is the second cozy series you’re currently writing. Do you find it difficult at times to write two series at once?
No. Sometimes I have to take a day between writing on a different book to clear my head of one protagonist and switch to the other.

What are you currently working on?
I’m working on the second book in the Jane Doe Book Club where Lyla wonders if real life could be as crooked as fiction. I’m also working page proofs of Southern Sass and a Battered Bride (releasing April 27th).

Kate, thank you for taking the time to answer some questions for me.
Thanks for having me! It’s been fun.

Purchase On Borrowed Crime from:

Kate Young writes Southern mystery novels. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and the Guppy Chapter. Kate lives in a small town in Georgia with her husband, three kids, and Shih Tzu. When she is not writing her own books, she’s reading or cooking.

Places to find Kate Young:

You can follow the On Borrowed Crime Blog Tour here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Follow

1 comment:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...