Tuesday, September 7, 2021

Guest Post & Giveaway ~ A GIRL FROM FOREVER by Yolanda McCarthy

A Girl from Forever (The Forever Institute, #1)
by: Yolanda McCarthy
Series: The Forever Institute
Genre: Dystopian Romance/YA Sci-Fi/Thriller
Release Date: September 3, 2021
Amazon | Paperback | Goodreads

“Night is a predator, and it’s got me.”

A thrilling dystopian story of star-crossed love, perfect for fans of Eve of Man and The Hunger Games.

Do you know who you are? Do you know where you belong? Do you recognize good from evil? Seventeen-year-old Fern thought she understood it all…

“Yolanda McCarthy’s dystopian novel, A Girl From Forever, is a thrilling teen adventure that explores multiple what-if scenarios as a young woman follows a lengthy quest for answers. Told in the first-person narrative from Fern’s point of view, the reader will be instantly caught up in the turmoil that plagues the protagonist as she seeks answers. With considerable conflict, both physically and mentally, the plot moves forward with a driving force that will have the reader unable to put the book down… This is a powerful story that not only rivets the reader but speaks to them about issues all young people face: first love, betrayal, truth, and denial, and what’s really real is this complicated world in which we live.” – Readers’ Favorite 5* review

Psychics, immortals, and a battle over humanity’s destiny. First love. Betrayal. Abduction. Murder. When friends become enemies and terrorists turn into allies, Fern’s betrayer could be her soul mate – but that might not be enough to keep her alive…

Some lies are lethal.


I asked Yolanda what pieces of advice she would give her teenage self. This is what she had to say:

Wow, that’s a hard one. I think I’m a little jealous of teenage Yolanda, too. And resentful of some of the decisions she made! What would I tell her…
  • Acting shy is a waste of time, it doesn’t make you mysterious and interesting – just invisible. Nobody can stop themselves from feeling shy, but it’s surprisingly easy to stop acting shy. Just pretend to be confident until it’s a habit.
  • People lie. All. The. Time. (Seriously, it took me years to work this out.)
  • Have more sociable hobbies. I never got involved with sports or learned to run until after I became a mum. Turns out it’s good for you and makes you feel great. Who knew.
  • Learn DIY.
  • Most people don’t know what they’re talking about. Be careful who you listen to.
  • Dance and sing.
  • If you’re five feet two inches tall, don’t try to drink like a rugby player.
  • Romance books are not realistic… But if people don’t treat you with respect, walk away. Fast. Faster!
  • If it isn’t fun, or useful to you or those close to you… Don’t do it.
  • Buy shares in Amazon in 1997.

Purchase A Girl from Forever from:

The Forever Institute Series:

Forever a Villain releases October 21, 2021

Yolanda grew up in London, where she worked as a lawyer, a supermarket assistant, a civil servant, and at a cat shelter. Not in that order. Her work took her to California, Serbia, and Dubai, but her fondest memories are of Bermuda. (She’s still homesick for Bermuda. Especially the pink sands of Elbow Beach…)

She now lives in Kent with her husband and son, where she writes all kinds of speculative fiction. Sometimes she climbs mountains.

Places to find Yolanda McCarthy:

You can follow the A Girl from Forever blog tour here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Follow

6 comments:

  1. Great cover, and the story sounds really good.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Awesome! Thank you for the chance! This sounds like a great book too!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Cover looks awesome! Excerpt is intriguing. Great work!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love the advice to her teenage self. Laughed when she said invest in amazon!

    ReplyDelete

Please be original in your comments. Do not comment on multiple posts with the same exact words. It looks spammy and makes it hard to tell that you are commenting on different posts. ~ For blog tours, don't forget to spread the love, by visiting and commenting at other stops.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...