Thursday, July 2, 2015

Romantic Suspense Review ~ CRIES IN THE NIGHT by Kathy Clark

Cries in the Night (Denver Heroes, #2)
by: Kathy Clark
Series: Denver Heroes
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: June 9, 2015 (Re-issue)
Source: Loveswept via NetGalley

Fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards will love this pulse-pounding novel of romantic suspense, as a red-hot firefighter reaches out to save a courageous beauty from the terrors of the night.
As a victim’s advocate for the Denver Police Department, Julie Lawrence is always on call for survivors of abuse, fighting for the justice she never got for herself. It’s a high-risk job that makes a lot of enemies—one of whom seems to be now targeting Julie. But teaming up with firefighter and local hero Rusty Wilson sparks a different kind of danger. As Julie surrenders to intoxicating passion, she finds herself breaking her own rules, caring about Rusty in a way she thought she’d sworn off forever.
When a domestic incident escalates into a deadly hostage crisis, Rusty is willing to risk everything to protect those who really need his help—like Julie, the breath of fresh air who fills his days with purpose and his nights with pleasure. He just hopes he’s not too late to stop a chillingly orchestrated act of payback that puts the woman he loves at the mercy of a madman’s rage.

REVIEW
Cries in the Night is the second book in the Denver Heroes series.  Although the hero of this book is related to the hero in the first novel, you can still read it as a stand alone.  I do think that it would be much more entertaining if you read the first book, After Midnight, as there are several references.  Plus, you would get a good sense of the relationship between the three brothers that show up in the series.  This was a great continuation and did not disappoint.  Whereas the first book may have contained murder, this one seemed to be a little darker as it focused on domestic violence and its physical and psychological effects.

Julie Lawrence is the Director of the Victim’s Advocacy Program so she works closely with people that are affected by disaster and domestic violence.  She comes in contact with police, paramedics, and firefighters.  When she runs into firefighter Rusty Wilson, everything changes.  He can’t understand how she seems to have no interest in him while he attracts so many other women mainly just because he is a firefighter.  He’s even posed in the Firefighter’s HOT Calendar.  There is something about Julie that he can’t figure out.  Julie goes to great lengths to make herself ordinary and unattractive. She keeps her distance from everyone and lives alone with a cat that adopted her. Unfortunately, her past will catch up with her just as she is starting to realize her feelings for Rusty.

There are several violent images in this book so it’s not for the faint at heart.  The depictions were very honest and that’s what I liked the most about the book.  It also shows how fearless and selfless people can be.  There’s a mystery person that terrorizes Julie which adds an interesting twist that will keep you intrigued until the very end.  I look forward to reading the third book in the series, Deep Night.

**Received a copy from Random House ~ Loveswept in exchange for an honest unbiased opinion.**

Rating: 5  

Purchase Cries in the Night from:

The Denver Heroes Series:
(Click on the book covers for more information or to purchase from Amazon.)

After Midnight ~ Review

Places to find Kathy Clark:
Follow

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...