Monday, May 22, 2017

Review ~ SAY YOU'RE SORRY by Melinda Leigh

Say You’re Sorry (Morgan Dane, #1)
by: Melinda Leigh
Series: Morgan Dane
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: May 16, 2017
Source: Publisher ~ Montlake Romance

In a new series from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh, former prosecutor Morgan Dane faces the most personal—and deadly—case of her lifetime.

After the devastating loss of her husband in Iraq, Morgan Dane returns to Scarlet Falls, seeking the comfort of her hometown. Now, surrounded by family, she’s finally found peace and a promising career opportunity—until her babysitter is killed and her neighbor asks her to defend his son, Nick, who stands accused of the murder.

Tessa was the ultimate girl next door, and the community is outraged by her death. But Morgan has known Nick for years and can’t believe he’s guilty, despite the damning evidence stacked against him. She asks her friend Lance Kruger, an ex-cop turned private eye, for help. Taking on the town, the police, and a zealous DA, Morgan and Lance plunge into the investigation, determined to find the real killer. But as they uncover secrets that rock the community, they become targets for the madman hiding in plain sight.

Say You’re Sorry is the fourth romantic suspense that I have read by Melinda Leigh.  It takes place in Scarlet Falls, New York which gives the book a small town feel without it being isolated.  There is an interesting sense of community that easily gets upended when a teenage girl is murdered and her former boyfriend quickly becomes the prime suspect due to political reasons.  Fortunately, there are still some people in town that are interested in putting the evidence above politics.

Morgan Dane is a single mother of three whose husband was killed in Iraq two years ago. Morgan has decided that it is time to get back to work as the prosecutor she once was and is days away from starting her new job in the District Attorney’s office when her neighbor’s son Nick is accused of murdering his former girlfriend Tessa who was also Morgan’s babysitter.  Before she realizes it, Morgan has decided to become Nick’s defense attorney. Knowing that she needs someone she can trust to help her clear Nick’s name and find the real killer, Morgan employs the help of former Scarlet Falls Police Officer turned Private Investigator Lance Kruger.  Since Morgan and Lance dated back in high school, there is definitely some chemistry there.  As the investigation progresses, members of the community begin to show their true colors and Morgan soon finds out that her hometown isn’t as warm and fuzzy as she thought.

Say You’re Sorry is a testament to the fact that no one really knows their neighbors.  We may see them everyday but we don’t really know them.  A lot of secrets are revealed.  Some of which are totally unexpected and change the lives of several families not directly related to the murder.  Even Morgan is more than meets the eye.  She comes off as a girly girl but she is a strong and capable woman.  She comes from long line of law enforcement members and it shows.  I really loved her character and the way that she pursued Nick’s innocence. There are a lot of twists and turns so expect to be surprised by the outcome.

**Received a copy of the book from the publisher and voluntarily reviewed.**

Rating: 5

Purchase Say You’re Sorry from:

The Morgan Dane Series:
(Click on the book covers for more information or to purchase from Amazon.)

The second book in the series, Her Last Goodbye releases on September 26, 2017

Places to find Melinda Leigh:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Amazon Author Page


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...