Friday, January 19, 2018

Spotlight ~ A TREACHEROUS CURSE by Deanna Raybourn

New York Times bestselling author Deanna Raybourn continues with the adventures of her spirited and resourceful heroine, Veronica Speedwell

Well-behaved women rarely solve mysteries

Advance Praise for A TREACHEROUS CURSE:

“While readers of Elizabeth Peters’s “Amelia Peabody” mysteries will enjoy this title, it is fans of Jane Eyre who will truly appreciate the third volume in Rabyourn’s historical series (following A PERILOUS UNDERTAKING). Her intricately plotted and dramatic story features a strong-willed, independent woman who is the intellectual equal of the brooding Stoker.”
—Library Journal, STARRED review, “Pick of the Month”

“As always, Raybourn writes with verve and wit….A Victorian Phryne Fisher, Veronica is an irresistible, modern, engaging woman who uses scientific observation and natural charm to guide her investigations.”—Booklist, STARRED review

“In audacious, decidedly un-Victorian Veronica, Raybourn has created a delightful cross between real-life reporter Nellie Bly and Phryne Fisher.”—Publishers Weekly

“The third adventure for the attractively eccentric duo is a clever and witty follow-up to A PERILOUS UNDERTAKING.” —Kirkus Reviews


A Treacherous Curse (Veronica Speedwell, #3)
by: Deanna Raybourn
Series: Veronica Speedwell
Genre: Historical/Victorian Mystery
Release Date: January 16, 2018
Publisher: Berkley
Amazon | Hardcover | Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Though a lepidopterist by trade, Veronica Speedwell has been up to much more than chasing after rare specimens of butterflies. Continuing on after the exhilarating adventures of A Curious Beginning and A Perilous Undertaking, it’s difficult to imagine how the spunky and spirited Victorian-era sleuth could find herself caught up in even more thrilling and dangerous exploits. But young Miss Speedwell does not disappoint in A TREACHEROUS CURSE, Deanna Raybourn’s highly anticipated third installment of the Veronica Speedwell mystery series.

After chasing down clues leading to her mysterious past, having quite literally run off to join a traveling circus, and solving a murder mystery at a ladies-only social club. However, she always goes back to her true love: the butterflies.

As colorful and unfettered as the butterflies she collects, Veronica can’t resist the allure of an exotic mystery—particularly one involving her enigmatic, frequently uncouth, yet ruggedly handsome colleague Stoker. His former expedition partner has vanished from an archeological dig with a priceless diadem unearthed from the newly discovered tomb of an Egyptian princess. The disappearance is just the latest in a string of unfortunate events that have plagued the controversial expedition, and rumors abound that the curse of the vengeful princess has been unleashed.

Soon Veronica has to contend with sordid details and malevolent enemies that have emerged from Stoker's past. Caught in a tangle of conspiracies and threats, Veronica must unravel a web of duplicity that threatens to cost Stoker everything.

With Raybourn’s clever plot construction and provocative storytelling, A TREACHEROUS CURSE is sure to appeal to fans of Alan Bradley, Jacqueline Winspear, Ann Perry and anyone on the hunt for a stimulating frolic across the pages.

Purchase A Treacherous Curse from:

Veronica Speedwell Series:

Deanna Raybourn is the New York Times bestselling author of the award-winning Lady Julia Grey series, the Veronica Speedwell series and several standalone novels. She lives in Virginia with her family.

Connect with Deanna Raybourn:




Follow

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...